Home » New Zealand on their way to the World Cup

New Zealand on their way to the World Cup

The New Zealand Cricket Board has announced the squad for the upcoming Twenty20 Cricket World Cup. Led by Kane Williamson, the squad includes 15 players. The absence of two senior players, Ross Taylor, and all-rounder Colin de Grandhome is a special feature as all-rounder Mark Chapman has been added to the squad. With 7 half-centuries. Chapman, 27, who represented Hong Kong in the 2014 World Twenty20, represented New Zealand in the first Twenty20 World Cup on 13 February 2018. He has represented the Twenty20 World Cup twice (2014 and 2016). The squad includes four key fast bowlers, three spinners and two all-rounders. Adam Milne has been named the 16th player in the squad to replace him only if a player is injured. Following the World Cup, New Zealand will tour India for the Twenty20 World Cup. Meanwhile, before the World Cup, New Zealand will play a limited overs tournament in Bangladesh and Pakistan. However, the New Zealand Cricket Board has decided not to nominate any players for the World Cup and has named a separate squad for the tournament. Tom Latham has been appointed to lead the team. Former Sri Lanka cricketer Thilan Samaraweera has been appointed as the coach of the New Zealand team during these two tours. New Zealand World Cup squad – Kane Williamson (captain), Todd Astle, Trent Bolt, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Loki Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamison, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Southee, Adam Milne (replacement).
Share This Post
Have your say!

Customer Reviews


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Thanks for submitting your comment!